BP100 at school

Today I wore the BP100 to school. I found that all of the sounds seemed louder than normal… although that was probably because I was wearing two hearing aids instead of one. I also noticed that the announcements, and the stove timer both caused feedback, just like my fiddle. This could be because I had the volume too high, but it was at the preset level, so I’m not sure.
I noticed that when somebody is talking to me on my right side, I find that I have to concentrate to distinguish what they are saying, especially when there is background noise. I think that this is just because I’m not used to hearing on that side. Normally when someone talks to me on my right side I automatically move over to the other side of the person, or turn my head, so that my left side is facing them. Today I didn’t need to do that, but, like I said already, I still had to concentrate harder than normal.

2 Responses to “BP100 at school”

  1. Hi BAHA_dude! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your observations. I am fascinated about your experiences going from unilateral to bilateral hearing. There are two things in particular that captivated my interested: (1) your description of the popping and feedback after you played the fiddle and (2) your experience at school. I am looking forward to learning more about what happens over time in these instances. I can’t help but think it must be very tiring for you to experience everything at school as louder. Have you noticed feeling more tired at the end of the day? Are you trying to concentrate to what you’re hearing from your right side on purpose to give yourself practice? What do you think will happen over time if you keep practicing? I wonder if anyone else who has gone through something similar will visit your blog…

    • Hi,
      Thank you for your comment. Do I feel more tired at the end of the day if I am concentrating on listening with my new (right) side? The answer is yes, I do feel a little more “worn” than usual… nothing major, but it does get a little tiring after a while. I find that if it starts to bother me at all, or if I want a break, then I just turn the hearing aid off for a little while, and then try again. Am I concertrating on what I’m hearing on my right side for practice? Not really most of the time, however I am purposely not repositioning myself as I would normally, because I’m trying to get used to not having to reposition myself. Over time, I think that I will stop repositioning my self, as I will no longer have to, and I won’t have to concentrate so hard on hearing on that side.

Leave a Reply

